Ephesus

Trying to marry a french citizen, don't understand times

32 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: France
Timeline

Okay, so I am filling the I-129f and G-325A form. First, do I need to send in all four pages of G-325A since only two pages apply to us?

I will be having a sponsor since I don't work (I am a student and I also receive SSI). Is this going to be a problem? Should I get a job quickly and keep it, or just use my sponsor (grandmother who makes more than enough money and has a lot of assets).

How long does the application take to process in Vermont? Then how long until she has her meeting? Basically, when can I get her to the US to marry? Is there another fee I can pay to speed things up? Can she be in the US without a visa, then fly back, and fly back to the US once the visa is approved? (I think you can stay in America for 3 months without a visa)

Thanks,

Ephesus

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Read the guides if you havent yet, they are very helpful. I dont know what you mean only 2 pages apply to you since they should all be the same and all 4 are needed. Make sure you have original signatures on the 2 G-325A's and the I 129f. You are lucky you are going through Vermont, they usually take less than a month for approval. Recently one filer was approved in 8 days! From there, time till interview varies and I dont know what the wait is for France. I am doing a co-sponsor as well. Very similar situation, a lot of people cant meet the income requirements so they co-sponsor. You can't expidite this visa. Since she is on the VWP, she can come be with you and then return for the interview/medical etc. She does need to prove ties to France if she comes while the visa is processing since it shows a higher likelyhood of staying. Lots of threads on this. Good luck on filing!