Rangm021

F-1 TO AOS with questions about income, taxes, and birth certificate translations!

3 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Mexico
Timeline

Hello everyone! I am writing to you all because I'm currently in the process of applying for AOS. I've done some research but still have a few questions in mind and I feel you all would be able to answer them best.

I am an F-1 student currently on OPT (my OPT ends next week). I recently completed an internship with Disney, which is where I met my now-husband. We got married in November. Now, we've moved to Pennsylvania where he is in college. We have an apartment together, are on the same telephone plan, and are getting a joint back account this upcoming week.

As I was filling out the paperwork, I had quite a few questions come to mind:

1. I originally came to the US with my parents on a tourist Visa when I was 7 years old. We all overstayed the visa, but I left the US after completing high school graduation, the week before I turned 18. My parents stayed in the U.S. I studied in Mexico for two years, before applying for an F-1 Visa in 2012. It was granted and I went to school in the United States. I graduated in May 2015 and began my internship with Disney. The Biographical information sheet asks about my parents and their current place of residence. Will the fact that they are in the US illegally affect me OR my parents when I apply?