katrina

Social Security Number

13 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline

my situation's kind of confusing, but anyway..

i applied for AOS and EAD august of 2006. i got my EAD november 1st and my green card the 2nd week of december. i applied for a social security number december 22nd, and the local office told me that i had to wait for about 10 weeks since "the USCIS hasn't updated my data yet." so i waited for 10 weeks, and i didn't hear anything from them. I went to the local office last week (which was the 10th week) to check on my application and they said my record still hasn't been updated yet and there was nothing they could do. they told me to wait another 10 WEEKS - OR SO - and just come back once in a while to check on the application. i was really getting frustrated coz without the number i couldn't get a license or a job and i've been bumming around since august of 2006!

and then this...........

one of my aunts who was living with my mom decades ago remembered that my mom was able to get a ssn for me when i was on vacation here in the states years ago (how? i have no clue). so i called my mom and asked her and she said she couldn't remember. then my dad, who is in a different country, called me the other day telling me that he was looking through his files and saw a social security card with my name on it!

now, my question is what do i do? do i use this old card or do i just discard this and wait for my pending ssn application? the thing is, with the old ssn it says "not valid for employment" but since im a permanent resident now i need a ssn that i can use for work. what should i do?? can i "upgrade" my old social security number???