YouAndMeK1

NOAII received! A few questions about what is to come next! (Mainly about affadavit)

10 posts in this topic

Hey everyone! My fiancée and I recently received her NOAII. So now we are waiting to receive what I believe is "packet 3" or some sort of a notification from the NVC..?

Her interview will be at the U.S embassy in Sweden, and I have a few quick questions I hope someone can answer.

As far as the affidavit of support, it seems to be consulate specific on what is required. I am a student with a part time job - my income is a little too low to meet the standards as of right now. However, my father will gladly cosponsor us, as for he is way over the poverty line. With all that being said, do we each submit a I-134? And what type of documentation should my father (and possibly myself) submit along with the I-134? I hear so many mixed answers: W2, tax returns, tax transcripts, employer letters, bank statements etc.. I'd like to know what is really needed as most of my research seems contradictory.

And after reading the reviews on the Sweden embassy, why did some people say they used a I-864? I see quite a few people on here confused about which form to use as well.

Finally, what exactly is a DS-160 and when/how should this be completed?

Thanks for all your help so far, and I help someone can help clear up our confusion. My main concern is in regards of how to do the affidavit of support correctly with a cosponsor :)

EDIT: and should a cosponsor full out the form the exact way a normal sponsor would?

Edited by YouAndMeK1

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Mexico
Timeline

The I-134 is used for K-1 visas. The I-864 is used for immigrant visas(such as spousal/CR-1), and for AOS after you are in the US and married. When reading reviews, make sure the review is about a K-1 visa interview and not a different type of visa.