Nathan Mckenna

Straightforward EB1-1 case?

10 posts in this topic

Filed: E-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hi everyone,

Hoping to seek some advice. I've been told I have a straightforward case for EB1-1. So I'm wondering if I can avoid $5-6k in legal fees. Can anyone please confirm this is true and let me know if I'm likely to succeed based on details below?

• I'm an Emmy award winning Illustrator from the UK. I was one of four people in my team who received an Emmy (Outstanding Main Title Design 2013 ) regardless, I have a statue with my name on it (attached). I also have the Emmy nomination invite personally addressed to me. I'm one of only 3 illustrators to ever win an Emmy.
  • Apparently, an Emmy can pass for "a major internationally recognized award" and that's all I need to prove my "extraordinary ability". I was told "Emmy" is actually in the legal statute as one of the examples, along with Nobel Prize, Academy Award, etc.

I have a BAFTA nomination this year but the only proof so far is on the BAFTA website. I haven't received any mail yet but I'll be attending the ceremony on April 26th. Link: http://awards.bafta.org/award/2015/tvcraft/titles

The only other part I need to prove is my intention to continue in my field of Illustration once I arrive in the States.

Are all these assumptions correct or am I missing something?

• What exactly do I need to do to "prove intention to continue in my field"?
  • If it's simply a cover letter detailing which companies and individuals I intend to contact then how detailed should I be?
  • I know quite a few people who can link me to companies and individuals so I think it shouldn't be a problem getting some letters from prospective employers, galleries, etc. But do they all need to be hand signed with company letterheads, etc, or will email correspondence be sufficient?