sarahbella

Filing Canadian Taxes

6 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Canada
Timeline

Hello all,

Question about taxes, because H&R Block hasn't called us back in 3 weeks and I figure I can sort this out on my own. (hopefully)

Our situation:

Left Canada on K-1 Visa on August 13, 2014. Got married on Oct 4, 2014. I worked in Canada before I left. Did not get my EAD until January 2, 2015. Called the cra to let them know I left Canada once I arrived in the US.

Now, when I file my Canadian taxes do I have to do anything special? I just tried it out on Turbotax and it does everything I ask it to, putting in my medical expenses, transit pass, all of that. Now do I have to add my US Spouse's information to my tax form? The Turbo Tax keeps asking what my Spouse's income is. Do I have to tell them that? We weren't married while I was a Canadian resident. (also it totally reduces my return amount)

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Sarah

Adjustment of Status

Date Filed : 2014-10-07

NOA Date : 2014-10-14

Bio. Appt. : 2014-11-06

Interview Date : 2015-01-05 - APPROVED!

Green Card Received: 2015-01-13 *error on Green Card

i-90 mailed: 2015-01-16

EAD

Approved Date : 2014-12-22

Received Date: 2015-01-02

The Canadian TurboTax is not entirely clear when it comes to residency status. For 2013 it asked what our residency status was as of Dec 31 2013, which for us was Non Resident, and asked for the date we left. But for tax purposes, filing as a Non Resident is not correct and I don't know if they fixed their software since. I complained and they basically told me I did it wrong...even though their instructions were clearly wrong. You are a partial year resident and I'm not convinced TurboTax does it right following the instructions they give.

As far as your marital status, you are filing as single from Jan 1st to Aug 13th. Anything earned after Aug 13th is taxable in the US.