9 posts in this topic

Hi - I am anticipating my wife will be denied at her appointment later this week due to an act of moral turpitude from a decade ago. I am trying to start the waiver process and there is a wealth of information out there on providing hardship but have a couple stupid questions regarding the form.

The i601 form and instructions are not clear to me. (uscis.gov/i-601) and seems to be an updated form i see examples of on the web. So, I had a couple questions ...

1) What is the "12a: Date of Visa Application with DOS" and "12b: Location of Visa Application with DOS" and "12c: Department of State Consular Number"

I assume but am not fully confident this is the date NVC (opposed to USCIS) received my case and the the location would be the embassy in my wife's home country where she will be denied and that the Consular number is my NVC case number.

2) This question will really show I am new to the process but I don't understand that the applicant fills out this form as it is me the petitioner who needs to show the hard ship and will fill all this out. Do I talk in third person pretending to be her or can I include myself as the person filling out the form and I do this do I need to complete the G-28 form? Is this normally how people do this?

3) As far as I know, she doesn't have an Alien Registration Number but just wondering if this might be somewhere I am not looking or if it will be given at the interview.

I will likely hire an attorney but want to complete as much as I can to get this completed and submitted as soon as possible.

Edited by JohnThailandJOhn

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Argentina
Timeline

hi

she will know after the interview if she qualifies for the waiver,

she fills out the form i601 and you do the hardship letter. the form goes with the hardship letter,