jun66

Administrative Processing

3 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Taiwan
Timeline

Hi all,

My wife was selected in DV-2015 and her case number is around AS109XX. After reading a lot of posts here, I think we probably have a chance for interview in August or September, 2015.

Currently I am a F-1 student and my wife is H-1B worker. However, I renewed my F-1 visa recently, and I got administrative processing due to the fact that I am a PhD student in the Computer Engineering area. Some friends mentioned to me that once someone ever got administrative processing, he or she will always gets administrative processing in all of the US visa application in the future. I wonder if it is true or not. In my case, if I go for interview next year with my wife and if there is administrative processing again (usually needs additional 30~60 days), I or both of us may not be able to get the DV before the time or visa runs out. To make the thing worse, if I didn't get the DV successfully, I might not be able to continue my study since submitting DS-260 and doing CP for DV is an act of showing immigration intention.

The whole thing makes me very worried, and I would appreciate any advice very much. I wonder if I should submit DS-260 with my wife or just let her apply without me (not sure if it is possible). If I should, when to submit would be a better strategy?

Thank you so much.

I don't understand why your field of study puts you in AP? Can you be more specific?

I would say no, being in AP once does not mean you will always be. AP, especially if it's long, is often due to a stringent background check. Once it's checked they don't need to do it again the next time....