adinutzyc21

Immigrant Intent and OPT

6 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Romania
Timeline

I'm currently an F1 student until August 2014, and I am planning to apply for an OPT afterward. There's a period in which I can do that (90 days before completion and 60 days after) so I am planning to apply either after I get a job offer or by October this year, whichever comes first (hopefully the former).

I've also been selected for the DV, with a CN of EU 30,xxx..

I went to the International Students Office at my school and asked them about it, and they said that I should apply for an EAD based on my DV win, which is believe is completely erroneous information. I could guess they don't usually deal with this situation, so I can't really trust what they say.

Now, I was wondering a few things, and would appreciate if anyone who sees this who was either in a similar situation or is knowledgeable about it.

1. Do I need to demonstrate non-immigrant intent to get my OPT?
  2. Would winning the DV (or even applying for it) qualify as immigrant intent?
  3. Would filing form DS-260 qualify as immigrant intent?
  4. Should I file the form DS-260 after my OPT is approved?
  5. Does it even make sense to apply for work authorization when my CN number is somewhat high? Wouldn't that be automatically rejected?
  6. Can I do AOS from OPT to GC? Anyone know how long that would take? (this should probably be its own separate topic)

I'll probably email the International Students Office at my school and clarify what the DV is and how it works with them in writing, because I assume they don't see a lot of situations like mine, but they probably have contacts that they could ask. In the meanwhile though, I'd appreciate your input!

Thanks!

Born in Romania, been living in the US since 2007 (F1 visa)

F1 visa 2007-2011, 2011-2016 - OPT received August 25, 2014