laksad

Eligibility for H1B

11 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline
I am a student on F1 . I have a 3 year bachelor degree from India and 1.5 years of work experience. Currently I am on OPT after completing a one year professional certificate from a college in Seattle. I also just completed my online - part time MBA from a university in India. Now I would like to know if my employer can apply H1B visa for me. Am I eligible for the same.

3 year Bachelor degree in India

1.5 years work experience India

1 year professional certificate degree in USA

1 year work experience in US on OPT

2 year part time MBA in India

• 3 weeks later...

I mean it doesn't matter how much experience or what degree he has if none of it is related to the job he is doing right now. That's the caveat for an H1B AFAIK. It is up to his employer and their lawyers to figure out, sure. But USCIS doesn't just see whether you have a degree or work experience but whether it is relevant to the job you are doing now and whether it is a specialty occupation.

Sometimes USCIS gives the approval and then when you go for stamping they deny you and withdraw the application. That's what happened to a friend. They told her that she neither had the relevant degree nor the work experience required for the job she had an approved H1B for. Well that's what she told us. Not sure if that was really the case.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline

I mean it doesn't matter how much experience or what degree he has if none of it is related to the job he is doing right now. That's the caveat for an H1B AFAIK. It is up to his employer and their lawyers to figure out, sure. But USCIS doesn't just see whether you have a degree or work experience but whether it is relevant to the job you are doing now and whether it is a specialty occupation.