Rose416

US born baby wants to be Canadian citizen too!

17 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Canada
Timeline

I am a permanent resident in the US, and had a baby a few months ago.

I'd like her to become a Canadian citizen also, and am wondering if anyone else has gone this route.

I have some questions:

1) Is it easier to apply in person, or can I do it all via mail? We'll be visiting Canada in a couple of months, so I was thinking we could take care of it then.

Also, 2)I'll be travelling with my Canadian passport and my baby's US passport. The name on mine is still my maiden name, so it is different from my baby's. Do you think this will be an issue with customs?

Thanks for your help!!

AOS

POE @ Toronto Pearson - 08/12/10

Civil Ceremony - 08/27/10

Applied for SSN in married name - 09/06/10 (I was told it will take 4 weeks to get the background check cleared and an additional 2 weeks to receive my card)

AOS/EAD/AP sent with FedEx - 09/25/10

E-Notice From Chicago - 10/05/10

I-797C, NOA1 Received - 10/08/10

SSN card received (FINALLY!)- 10/23/10

Biometrics appointment - 10/28/10

EAD Approved - 11/19/10 (USCIS Website Notice)

AP Approved & Received - 11/22/10

EAD Received- 11/23/10

Interview - 02/07/11 APPROVED!

I am now a U.S. Permanent Resident!!

My K1 Journey can be found on the 'About Me' page

Canada Border Services Agency is picky when it comes to children, especially that young.

If your husband is not travelling with you make sure you have a notarized letter showing that he is aware of your travel and is okay with it. There are examples on-line for it: http://travel.gc.ca/travelling/children/consent-letter

Enjoy your visit home!

Not sure about her citizenship thing. I’m not planning any more children so I’ve not looked into it.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline