Derek and Yasmin

Tax return and I-134 for k1, please help

21 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Brazil
Timeline

For the Rio consulate, is the latest tax return required (or essentially "required") for evidence with the I-134? The only statement I can find on rio's packet 3 instructions is "The sponsor must attach proof of his/her income such as: copy of last U.S. Federal Income Tax (form 1040), proof of current employment, job offer, pay-slip, etc".

The reason I ask is because up until last May I was in school on unpaid medical internships. I'm employed by a federal hospital for residency making over the 125% poverty line, but my latest income taxes show i made a few thousand less (due to starting halfway through the year). My employer letter details what it needs to (also listing my that my federal appointment is expiring in a year too when I'm done unfortunately) and I have plenty of pay stubs. I'm hoping they see i'm a doctor and don't dwell too much on the 134 aside from my current salary, but I have no idea. I can't get a co-sponsor, so that won't help. Should I bring along my 1040/W2 and if they ask, THEN provide it? I'm not sure what to do here. I'm probably making it more complicated than it has to be.

n54Pm3.png

SMWAm3.png

event.png

Ejq9m3.png

okTAm3.png

Filed: Timeline

For the 134 if you have no dependents it would just be you and your fiance, so youre looking at 2 people. The 134 is not based on 125% its based on 100% of the poverty guidelines, so you only need 15,130 in income.