~PalmTreeGurl~

Life/career change

40 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Egypt
Timeline

Well, I am thinking to make a career change in my life. I'm always stressed and tired of some of the things going on. This is about to be my 12yr with Walmart & I'm only 1 1/2 months away from my 12yr year which will be a raise plus 3 more weeks of paid vacation. I have 401k and stock in the company. However with all of that I just applied for a position at a bank. Anyone have pros & cons for working at a bank. Being that I've been 12 yrs in customer service and 10 of the as a manager I'm sure it's comparable in that aspect.

It's scary to think about a life change like this but it may be necessary for my life!

10407819_701840296558511_659086279075738

Filed: Country: Palestine
Timeline

Well, I am thinking to make a career change in my life. I'm always stressed and tired of some of the things going on. This is about to be my 12yr with Walmart & I'm only 1 1/2 months away from my 12yr year which will be a raise plus 3 more weeks of paid vacation. I have 401k and stock in the company. However with all of that I just applied for a position at a bank. Anyone have pros & cons for working at a bank. Being that I've been 12 yrs in customer service and 10 of the as a manager I'm sure it's comparable in that aspect.

It's scary to think about a life change like this but it may be necessary for my life!

Zaid&Salma'sMommy can probably advise you on the pros and cons of bank jobs - I believe she has been working at a bank for several years now.

But questions you should ask yourself -

Is the job at the bank a parallel move, or an advancement ? Does it pay more ? Are the benefits better ? Will they match the vacation time you get now ? (Try to bargain for that if they make you a offer.)

Most of all - will it put you in a better position to advance in your career ? Do you feel you've hit a plateau at Walmart and need something bigger/better ?