eeda89

AOS advised by law office, what to do?

5 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Pakistan
Timeline

Hello All,

I'm in a bit of a confused mess regarding all this visa processes. I'm a Canadian Permanent Resident in the midst of applying for Caandian Citizenship, and I also hold a 10 year multiple entry visit visa to the U.S. On September 3rd, 2011, I married my U.S citizen fiance in Canadam and we now have a legal marriage certificate issues from Ontario, Canada evidencing our marriage. I am currently residing in Canada, intending to travel to the U.S soon for visiting family (there's a wedding in the family in August), and at a later date for finally moving in with my husband. Lawyers have advised me that instead of filing the I-130 and then the K3 to enter the U.S, which might take several months, it is more advisable to enter on a visit visa for visiting family as I am doing, but not making a separate entry to move in with my husband. Instead, moving in with my husband on the same trip, and applying for I-485 together with the I-130, which would be faster to process. I am utterly confused as to the process, and of course, once I do apply for the I-485, doesnt the fact that I have a canadian marriage certificate dated 3rd September 2012 incriminate me already, in that how can I prove that my intention IS to visit family and not to move in with him, and that I changed my mind later while in the U.S (when I was already married to him at the time of my entry to the U.S)? Not every entry made to the U.S after my marriage automatically means I am entering to move-in with him, correct? I do have an event to attend, which I have proof of.

Also, my in-laws in the U.S have planned a wedding reception for me and my husband taking place before the event in my own family, which is the main reason I am going. Would this complicate matters as well?