luis_bici_

Preparing docs a little early

6 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

I am a teacher, so I will have a bit more than 2 months of vacation soon. I plan to spend them with my fiancee and the adjudication date says late August when I have to be back at work/the US. I am hoping that things will go more quickly than that and that we can interview while I am there-before coming back. I will be at the interview y punto. I would like to not have to make an extra trip, for many reasons, to do so. I want to visit her with the necessary support docs in hand (salary well above 125% poverty line, but then will be dated late May for a possible early-mid August interview) and our travels and my job will be able to justify the dates I believe. What I am asking is for thoughts/suggestions and what do I need to bring with me/us? Thanks again to everyone in the forum!

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: France
Timeline

I would not expect an interview that early. Late August is the estimation for the petition approval. The visa process which follows usually add a few more months, depending on your fiancee's consulate. Where is she from?

Documents that she will bring on the interview have to be recent. If she has her interview, let's say September-October at the earliest, May documents will be 4-5 months old... not too good.

BTW, your fiancee is the one being interviewed, you are not required to make an extra trip to come (some consulates even does not authorize the US fiance to enter). But again, it depends on which consulate your fiancee will be dealing with.

EDIT: Just noticed in your timeline that you mentioned the Caracas consulate. Members from Venezuela will tell you how long it usually takes to process the visa after the petition is approved. Or you can search for members who dealt with this consulate and see how long it took.