Nelchior

URGENT - How long to wait outside the country between F1 and tourist

10 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hi everyone!!

I have been in the U.S for three years now. I arrived here as a tourist, looked for an internship, found one, came back to France to grab my J1, then i studied here at the end of my internship (and therefore went back to France to grab a F1)

Now My OPT grace period expire this Sunday (which leads me to another question (1): my last day of OPT/EAD was February 22. Does the grace period start the next day? Also, if I leave on the 60th day, I will arrive in France and pass the customs technically on the 61th day. is that possible)

(2) I wanted to know how long I have to wait outside the U.S before I can come back. I have a few things to do here (emptying my apt, attending to an important dentist surgery operation, etc).

I have been told two weeks, while some other people told me three months. Of course I would like to come back as soon as possible.

Also, last question: Should I come under a regular tourist visa ( and therefore just register on the ESTA website) or should I try to get a B1/B2 ?

Thank you so much for your time!

G.

Filed: Country: Poland
Timeline

France is among the VWP countries so you don't need to apply for a visa to travel. If you get a visa, you don't need ESTA. As long as you have not overstayed/violated your status in the U.S., you can use VWP to apply for admission at the POE.

The decision to let you in on VWP is at the discretion of the CBP officer at the POE. You will probably have to provide some explanation as of why do you want to return so fast as a tourist. If I were you, I would probably spend those extra bucks and try getting a B2 visa to ensure that the CO has nothing against you returning to the U.S. so early. Better to be rejected in your home country than at the border. But that's just my opinion ;)