alekhine

What to expect when re-entering the US with a grean card after 11 months?

6 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hi all,

I got my IV 1 1/2 yrs ago, and landed in US a year ago. I got the GC shortly after that, and then moved back overseas. So I'll be back in the US within 12 months of my first entry. I spent 10 out of 11 months out of the US since I got my GC.

I am a professional and I need license to work. This takes time; exams, eval's ..etc. With a family to support, I can't leave my job and come permanently to the US before securing a license at least.

So I was out of US for the last 11 months, and I'll be coming back next week. Throughout this period I was working on getting a license and preparing for the last & permanent move. I never abandoned the intention to reside permanently in the US. An accurate description of my case would be that : " I failed so far to establish residence in the US rather than abandon the intention to reside permanently there."

What to expect at the POE this time? what are the possible scenarios? What questions will be asked? What will the officer want to hear? I definitely won't lie, but it helps to know what the "correct answers" are. Any advice in general?

I appreciate any answers.

Thanks in advance

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline

Hi all,

I got my IV 1 1/2 yrs ago, and landed in US a year ago. I got the GC shortly after that, and then moved back overseas. So I'll be back in the US within 12 months of my first entry. I spent 10 out of 11 months out of the US since I got my GC.

I am a professional and I need license to work. This takes time; exams, eval's ..etc. With a family to support, I can't leave my job and come permanently to the US before securing a license at least.