Lady Amorika

What to Expect in Coming Months

9 posts in this topic

Filed: K-3 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

I'm very new to this process (as those in the K-1 forum might know) but I want/need to be prepared for what is coming :)

I'm Jessica, living in Ontario Canada. My fiance is John, living in upstate NY. We will be sending in our I-129F forms/packet soon, as soon as he manages to get the photos done.

I KNOW it is different for everyone, but I'm planning to take 6 months from sending in our I-129F to NOA2, and 3 months from NOA2 to the interview. Does this sound possible/logical to all of you?

Is the back-up in Montreal as bad as it seems?

Things like police checks (I've lived in 2 provinces, NB and ON) and vaccination records (will blood work prove what vacs I have done?), when should those happen? I want to start those early if they take some time to acquire.

How soon should he and I apply for our passports?

Also, he hasn't filed taxes in a couple years (as he didn't have income to report) but is now working and I assume he will have filed this years taxes well before the interview. Should he back-file now to avoid delays later?

What info should we gather to show an ongoing relationship?

Also, I'm going to need a letter from my doctor to prove that I no longer have mental issues (I was treated for depression a couple years ago), but haven't really seen just one doctor. How should I go about doing this, considering I'm in university and see whoever is at the clinic whenever. Should I just plan a couple visits with a psychiatrist NOW so that I have the papers?

Sorry for the mammoth post, I'd just rather have an early start on things (we needed to get so much more done for the I-129F than I anticipated, which is the problem now, so I want to be a bit more prepared for the rest of the journey!)

Thanks so much and I wish speedy and easy journies for the rest of you!!

Jessica (L)

Filed: Timeline