Minu Luvs Pinu

Things you must do after getting married

3 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

I'm very new at this obviously, first time and hopefully the only time I get married.

What documents do I need to change to reflect my new last name?

Do I have to change my last name on my Canadian Passport? If I choose not to, will I have problems at the border?

What about my car's license plate? I just registered my car for another year, do I have to change my car's plates to the state that I will be living in? Will I need to have a new drivers license? Can I keep my license (atleast for another yr until I get settled) and just change my last name on my Ontario license the next time I go visit.

What else should I do or need to know?

Thank you in advanced.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi Minu Luvs Pinu,

Yes, it is exciting time once you get your visa - and a little bit intimidating too when you realize the next order of business will be to move to the US. Do you have a date you plan to do this yet?