chyme

filing i-751 without attorney

7 posts in this topic

Hi! my husband and i filed my petition for residency thru an attorney since we weren't sure that time and all that. now its time for me to file i-751 to remove my conditions. initially, we paid our atty $3000 for his professional fee and i remember him telling is its all the way. so now that we gave him our forms he suddenly sent us a bill with a new $500 prof fee for filing my forms. we cant afford it and we were surprised why he's charging us now to file my forms when we thought it was all included before and we thought all the way means till im a complete resident without conditions anymore. but he said he didnt add the fee before due to some cases where the couple didnt file for removal anymore due to divorce etc.

we were wondering if it would be safe if we just submitted the forms ourselves? we have a copy of the forms and our evidences. don't we just mail it to USCIS and its good already? or do we really need our attorney to mail the forms for us and pay him $500 for doing so?

our evidences include: life/health/401k/dental insurances where my husband and stepson are my beneficiary, a joint car insurance, a joint credit card, a joint ownership of a car, 2009 and 2010 joint filed taxes. would this be enough?

please give us an advice on what we should do.

My Naturalization Journey so far....

08/23/12 Day 1 - Sent N-400 packet via USPS Priority Mail from UT

08/25/12 Day 3 - Delivered to Phoenix lockbox

08/28/12 Day 6 - Acceptance date (based on Case Status)

08/29/12 Day 7 - Received text and email on Acceptance Confirmation

08/29/12 Day 7 - Case Status marked as Initial Review

08/30/12 Day 8 - Check cashed

00/30/12 Day 8 - Received Acceptance letter by mail

09/04/12 Day 13 - Appointment Notice for FP mailed

09/06/12 Day 15 - Received Appointment Notice by mail

09/18/12 Day 27 - Biometrics appointment at 2PM in SLC,UT