happyme'11

US Citizenship and Kids

9 posts in this topic

Hello fellow Vj'ers,

I am a resident of GA since i got here on a K1 visa in 2007. My kids got here in November 2010 (IR2)and Me and the kids already have our 10 yr. green card.

I am qualified to apply for my citizenship since May of last year but i haven't applied yet since i was waiting for my kids to be here first .

Here are my concerns:

1. If I apply for my citizenship..should i apply for my kid's citizenship as well and pay individual fees for the 3 of us?

2. I am not in a hurry to be a citizen since i will have to use my 10 yr. green card's worth yet but I am planning to petition for my mom and the first thing is I have to be a citizen first.

SO if i apply,,the kids too shud apply?

I would appreciate ur help. Thanks in advance.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Colombia
Timeline

Hello fellow Vj'ers,

I am a resident of GA since i got here on a K1 visa in 2007. My kids got here in November 2010 (IR2)and Me and the kids already have our 10 yr. green card.

I am qualified to apply for my citizenship since May of last year but i haven't applied yet since i was waiting for my kids to be here first .

Here are my concerns:

1. If I apply for my citizenship..should i apply for my kid's citizenship as well and pay individual fees for the 3 of us?

2. I am not in a hurry to be a citizen since i will have to use my 10 yr. green card's worth yet but I am planning to petition for my mom and the first thing is I have to be a citizen first.

SO if i apply,,the kids too shud apply?

I would appreciate ur help. Thanks in advance.

Weird, the kids do get to tailgate you for the removal of conditions and get their very own green card. But somehow through some kind of magic automatically become US citizens if under the age of 18, but you don't get any proof of that. Can send in a bunch of stuff to get them a US passport, or apply for a certificate for each of them, filed separately for each kid, with the N-600.