andreean1987

ask for sponsorship

9 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Romania
Timeline

Hello

I am a US college student about to graduate in 5 month...I have a question to some former international students in US: How did you ask your employer about H1b sponsorship? I am saying this especially because I have OPT option and it is not an immediate need for H1b. However, I want to know if they would sponsor me after a certain time. I have a meeting with a prospective employer and I do not know if I should bring up the fact that I am international and I would need sponsorship in the future. I am just afraid they will say no in the beggining beofre i start working and they would sponsor me if they I will prove myself as a loyal and good employee. What are the main reasons that employers tell us they do not sponsor? if it is the money reason, i just talked to an immigration attorney who told me that money is not an issue because a lawyer, third party, can pay the fee to the givernment on my behalf so it would not cost money for the employer.

Is there a way you can ask to have a better chance for a positive answer or it is just a matter of luck based on the sponsoring policy of the company?

When did you guys ask for sponsorship? before starting or after starting OPT? Wjat is better?

Thanks

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

The lawyer is wrong.

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

Assuming you've been extended a job offer without your employer asking about your LPR or citizen status, the sponsorship topic should technically come up when you fill out the I-9 form, also known as employment eligibility verification.

You have to show valid documentation that allow you to work before you start your new job.