jj1028

3 mos. state residency requirement

6 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

I am eligible to naturalize in January 2011, we are planning a 2 mos. vacation (Oct-Dec) in my home country. Can i go on a vacation prior to filing? I am a little confused as there is a 3 mos. state residency requirement, I am not sure if that means i have to be here 3 mos. prior to filing. Ive been residing here in texas for almost 3 yrs.

Not sure where you are getting the 3 month state residency requirement. I have not seen that one... However, leaving for vacation for 2 months does

not end or suspend your resident status. That is certainly acceptable by the immigration process. You will only have issues with immigration if you

exceed 6 months.

Regards,

No, the 3 month residency does not apply to traveling. It only applies when you move within the US and the new residence is serviced by a different district office. If so, then you will need to wait 3 months before you become eligible to apply for naturalization based on the new residence.

N-400 Naturalization Timeline

06/28/11 .. Mailed N-400 package via Priority mail with delivery confirmation

06/30/11 .. Package Delivered to Dallas Lockbox

07/06/11 .. Received e-mail notification of application acceptance

07/06/11 .. Check cashed

07/08/11 .. Received NOA letter

07/29/11 .. Received text/e-mail for biometrics notice

08/03/11 .. Received Biometrics letter - scheduled for 8/24/11

08/04/11 .. Walk-in finger prints done.

08/08/11 .. Received text/e-mail: Placed in line for interview scheduling

09/12/11 .. Received Yellow letter dated 9/7/11

09/13/11 .. Received text/e-mail: Interview scheduled

09/16/11 .. Received interview letter

10/19/11 .. Interview - PASSED

10/20/11 .. Received text/email: Oath scheduled

10/22/11 .. Received OATH letter

11/09/11 .. Oath ceremony

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: England
Timeline