colonia

Police Certificate

10 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hey everybody,

I am new to this forum and maybe someone can help me with my question(s) regarding the police certificate needed for the K 1 visa (for which my fiance and i plan to apply by end of August):

-do I need to bring it with me to the interview or do i need to send it in earlier?

- how old/new is the police certificate supposed to be when handing it in?

Since i work in the humanitarian aid business and am going to Asia in a couple of weeks (for six months) this question is pretty important to me since I may encounter problems with getting the certificate while being abroad (in Germany you have to show up in person at city hall to have it issued).

if i need it for the interview (for which i will fly to Germany for a week or two) i could just get it then, otherwise i need to fly back to Germany just for a five minute visit to city hall.

It would be great if somebody had an answer to my question.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Brazil
Timeline

As I understand it, you're the foreign fiance, right?

Since you haven't applied yet and depending on which service center will process your petition, it'll take some months till you get to the interview date. Also, scheduling interviews may take less or more time according to the embassy or consulate where it'll take place.

But in short, you'll need the police certificates for the interview. Instructions on how/when to obtain them will be in packet 3, sent by the foreign consulate to the beneficiary, after the petition's been approved and forwarded to the beneficiary's country.

As for how long they're good, it also varies according to the country you're getting them. For example, in Brazil, state certificates are only valid for one month and federal ones are valid for 90 days.