neyes_ice

B2 visa situation

3 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Philippines
Timeline

good day to all, i would like some advice regarding B2 visa. here is my situation, my girlfriend of almost 8 years went to the US almost four years ago, she is on a student visa and currently working on a EB-2 visa. this coming december would be my first time to apply for a B2 visa, my ties to my country is not that strong, i am a freelance architectural designer, i have traveled a few times abroad (SE asia) i can only fund my travel because my parents recently sold some property. i know it would be risky to try at this point but i need to do my part to make our relationship work. the plan is if i can go there before she files for EB-2 visa get married so i can be carried in with the process (if i ever get my B1 approved) +/- comments/advice are welcome. thanks

Edited by neyes_ice

Filed: Other Timeline

I'm not 100% sure if I understand your question correctly. So you are in the Philippines, your girlfriend is in the USA, correct?

The way I've come to understand, it is rather difficult to get a B2 (B1 is business) visa for citizens of the Philippines. Applicants have to show strong ties to their country and a reason why they want to return. If you can't show such ties, you may have a difficult time to get a B2.

Then there is the issue with marrying your girlfriend while in the US on a B2. If your girlfriend is only in the US on a valid student visa, she couldn't even help you in any way to obtain an adjustment of status to permanent resident.

And even if she were a US citizen, doing so would be a violation of the visa and could carry serious consequences.

All you can hope for is visiting her, perhaps getting married, but then you'd have to return to the Philippines again. Would that be something you would want to do?