LizzyC

When Should I Change My Last Name

3 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Ireland
Timeline

Hi,

I am a female immigrant married to a male US citizen and we are both living here in the US. We got married in June and we're waiting for all the paperwork to be processed for my AOS.

All of that paperwork went in under my given name, as I had no ID (other than my marriage cert) at that time with my new last name (my husband's last name). Since then, I got my new driving license with my new last name, and a couple of bank cards changed to it.

But for the Social Security Card, I read in various places that I should wait until I have my AOS, ie, I am a permanent resident, before I change my name with the SSA. However, I assume my EAD will be under my maiden name (as I filled out the paperwork that way), as would my PR stamp in my passport, as my passport is under my maiden name.

When can I change my name? I really, really, want to change it officially. Could I use my EAD with my old last name (whenever it arrives!) and then go ahead and get the Irish Embassy to send me a new passport with my new name, and then bring that to get my PR stamp? And at that point change my social security card and so on, and from that point operate under my new last name. Or, could I leave my passport as is, then use it with the PR stamp under my old name, and then a social security card with my new last name in conjunction with my marriage cert linking the two together??? And then, a friend recently freaked me out by telling me that the Social Security Administration has a finite window of time in which you must change your name, does anyone know when that is???

:unsure: I am so confused on what course of action to take, as everytime I decided to take an approach, I remember something else that contradicts it. What is the timeline that female immigrants take on changing their name??

Please help!! Thanks

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline