KatieMay

UK to USA - quickest way

17 posts in this topic

Hi All,

This site is so awesome, thank you to everyone for their valuable input, I have already gleaned a ton of information but I'm still totally confused as to what is the best way to proceed in my case (and I understand EVERYONE wants to get their visa through quickly, but I'll ask my question anyway..)

Here is the background:

-- I am a UK resident

-- I have been married for two and a half years to my American citizen Husband was approved for permanent residency to the UK in February of this year.

-- We're both 27 years old

-- We are currently half way into a 3 month stay with his parents in North Carolina.

A GREAT job opportunity for us both has come up and we have decided, while here, it is best that we move to the USA (something we have always known we would eventually do, but perhaps not this soon)

The jobs are ready now so we want to get me permission to stay here or leave and come back, as soon as is physically possible. We are due to leave the USA on July 9th.

What is the best way for me to go about getting residency, as a spouse, in the USA - do I have to go back to the UK or can I do it from here? If I do go back am I going to be stuck there for many months?

Thanks so much in advance,

Katie

Life:

10/13/05: Married in the UK

living in the UK

02/02/08: Husband becomes permanent resident of UK

04/16/08: Visit in-laws in USA, husband gets offered permanent job

AOS:

06/19/08: AOS Packet Mailed

06/28/08: NOA Date

07/17/08: Biometrics Complete

08/30/08: Request for Initial Evidence Arrives (I-485) (booo)

Just to confirm, I am here for this visit on the Visa Waiver Program

Life:

living in the UK

AOS:

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

I guess I would ask you a couple things before i gave you any advice...

Did you intend to stay in the US before you came over to visit?

Do you need to go back to England to take care of anything pressing?