Timeline

Happen to run across this in the M-476 manual:

Permanent Resident – A

Permanent Resident is a person

who has been granted permanent

resident status in the United States

and has (or is waiting for) a

Permanent Resident Card.

For marriage on the N-400, we checked this box.

I have been a Lawful Permanent Resident of the United States for at least three years, and I

have been married to and living with the same U.S. citizen for the last three years, and my

spouse has been a U.S. citizen for the last three years.

For this question we put the date that my wife received her permanent resident card, well that conditional one anyway.

C. Date You Became a Permanent Resident (mm/dd/yyyy)

But shouldn't we have put the date on her I-797c that came in shortly after our attorney submitted her I-485? He told us once the I-485 and all those other forms were submitted, she is legal to stay here, but it took almost a year to get that green card. Couldn't we have applied for her N-400 over a year ago?

I mean the USCIS is saying (or is waiting for) a Permanent Resident Card

so by their law, she was a permanent resident for that period of time. So why didn't we count it?

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: China
Timeline

Permanent residence status begins the moment USCIS APPROVES LPR status, NOT when the I-485 was submited.

Status for a person without green-card while waiting for I-485 approval is. "I-485 pending" the alien is allowed to remain in the USA until a decision is made on the I-485. The time they are waiting for I-485 approval they are considered to be a NON-Resident visitor. K-Visa is a NON-Immigrant visa.

OUR TIME LINE Please do a timeline it helps us all, thanks.

Is now a US Citizen immigration completed Jan 12, 2012.

1428954228.1592.1755425389.png

CHIN0001_zps9c01d045.gifCHIN0100_zps02549215.gifTAIW0001_zps9a9075f1.gifVIET0001_zps0a49d4a7.gif

Look here: A Candle for Love and China Family Visa Forums for Chinese/American relationship,