texasbantam

Filed I-130 at London US Embassy

11 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hello everyone!

I'm a new registered user (today).. but have been lurking for a while! I'll fill in a timeline later on today.

I'm a UK resident, my wife is originally from Texas (she's on a 2-year spousal visa, due to expire in November), and we're both in the UK.

We filed my I-130 April 28th with the US Embassy in London, and they took the credit card payment within a week.. now my questions are - is this normal for them to take the payment out so quickly? And am I correct in assuming that because they've taken the payment, the I-130 has been approved, and should now wait for the DS-230??

My wife is desperate to get back home, so if I could give her an answer it'd make my life a lot quieter (for now anyway :)

Thanks for taking the time to read this!

Hi there! Welcome to VJ, and the wonderful world of London DCF. I myself am a "graduate" from last year.

It is totally normal for them to take your credit card payment within a few days. However, unfortunately, this does not mean you are on to Packet 3 stage, when you fill in the DS-230. (Would that it were!) It just means they have put your file in the queue for processing. The next step is having your petition approved; this usually takes 2-3 months, depending on the time of year. You can check what date they're up to processing-wise here: http://www.usembassy.org.uk/dhs/uscis/i130filing.html Look in the sidebar on the right under "Processing Times". As of today, they're processing petitions from March 3rd. Your filing date is the date your card was charged. When your date comes up, you should be hearing within a week or so if you've been approved. Then you can start worrying about the DS-230, the I-864 and all the other lovely forms you've been hearing about.