hifalam

Additional Police certificate query

5 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Pakistan
Timeline

Hello everyone,

I have an important query with regards to the police certificate requirement for NVC.

I have spent approximately 5 years abroad in England between 1997 and 2001 on a student visa. i studied for a Bsc Hons degree in Business administration at Cardiff university of wales and then went on to do my Msc Marketing from Manchester university. during this time i made regular visits back home to Pakistan though i did live at a stretch in cardiff and Manchester for more than 1 year stretches in university accomodation.

due to my status as a student i was not authorized to work in England and hence did not engage in any part time jobs either. my concern is that if i am asked to produce a police certificate from england how do i go about it since i never registered with the police over there ( it is not a legal requirement for foreign students ) and i never had any cause to interact with them.

since i am now based in and working in my home country of Pakistan, i will be more than happy to present the pakistani police certificate. my concern is what do i do about the british police certificates. can i submit copies of my degrees to show that i graduated successfully and had no problems with the law. the other alternative is to get standardised letters from my universities indicating that i was a student at their respective universities and graduated successfully.

i currently have a valid visitor visa for the UK and the worst case scenario will be that i visit England and get some sort of a police clearance certificate from both cities. This will be extremely expensive and a very hectic option to undertake.

your valuable help or opinions regarding this matter would be highly appreciated.

Regards and best wishes,

Alamgir

You will need to apply for a Police Cert through ACPO as you were in England for 5 years.

See their website at: