sunny86

F1 to Green Card through marriage - 30/60/90 rule?

12 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: India
Timeline

Hi

I am a student from India doing my PhD in USA on F-1 visa for about 3 years now. I have a girlfriend who is an American citizen and we plan to get married sometime in near future. I do not know if I want to stay in US after I graduate from school and my F-1 visa is valid for another 2 years. I have a couple of questions regarding my scenario:

- Do I need to apply for Green Card right after our marriage OR it can be applied a year or so after marriage when I have decided for sure that we want to stay in US?

- I am confused about the 30/60/90 immigration rule. Does it apply to the first time you enter the US on immigrant visa or your latest entry to the US on that visa? I know the rule is used to establish “preconceived intent” to immigrate, but in my case, since I have been a student for more than 3 years, does 30/60/90 immigration rule apply to me especially if I don’t plan to apply for GC right away after marriage? How else can I prove that I had no intent to permanently immigrate to the US when I first entered US in 2012.

- If I decide to make a trip back to India right before (less than a month) our marriage and at port of entry use my F-1 to enter USA, do I have to declare that I intend to marry an American citizen in the near future? I read somewhere that entering US on F1 automatically means you are saying that you have no intent to immigrate.

- What kind of travel restrictions are in place for me after I apply for Green card? Can I apply for OPT while my GC application is still in process?

Thanks in advance

Edited by nodonut

You can apply for a green card whenever you wish after you become eligible (through family or employment).

The 30/60/90/120/150/180/210/********** day "rule" is not binding on USCIS; you can safely ignore it.