nbanik1987

Green card dilemma

6 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: India
Timeline

I am an F-1 student married a US citizen, applied for I-130. I wanted some suggestions/opinions/advice regarding my impasse that I am going to describe.

I am currently pursuing my PhD and will be graduating in Summer 2016, after that I want to apply for jobs in academia like lecturer or post doc positions. For this I may have to go outside the US and stay for more than 2 yrs. I just found out that if I am granted a green card, I can not reside outside the US or be absent for than a year. So I have the following questions

1. Should I postpone applying for the adjustment of status (I-485), since I don't know if I will get an academic job in the US. If I do stay in Europe for more than 2 yrs, my green card will be invalid and I will have to reapply again with all the fees etc. But then again, if I do get a job in the US and settle down, I won't be able to work without a work permit, so should I apply for a work permit instead?

2. Say I do go to Europe and after 2-3 yrs I get a permanent position in the US, I would want to come back and settle down, what kind of visa/entry permit will I need to enter the US?

3. If I am approved for the I-130, how long will it stay valid?

Thanks

An I-130 never expires.

You could do the I-130, and if you get a job in the USA, apply for the AOS at that time including the EAD with it, and stay in the USA, with the ability to work after about 90 days. Also if you get a job outside the USA, then the hard bit of the I-130 is done and you can simply use form I-824 to recall the approved I-130 from the National Records Center, so you could finish off with consular processing from whatever country you're living in at the time.

You have the alternative of applying for a re-entry permit as well but that is leaving the return up to the graciousness of the CBP.