Terri and Seb

Quick question about cosponsors (I-134, I-864)

8 posts in this topic

Hello,

Our check was cashed and we received our NOA1 a few days ago (!!!) so now we're starting to think about the other paperwork we'll eventually need. Since I'm a full time student and thus have little income, we're asking a relative to be our cosponsor for both the I-134 and (way down the road) the I-864. She makes well over 50K a year and has a lot of savings, owns a bit of real estate, has stocks, etc., but is still very hesitant to give out her full financial profile. I've read all the guides and example forms, but I just wanted to verify a few things.

On the example I-134 form, the sponsor entered their annual income as well as their mortgage amount but left the more detailed information (stocks/bonds, other assets) blank. If my cosponsor exceeds the poverty guidelines, she doesn't have to fill out ANY other monetary questions aside from her annual income, nor does she need to supply letters from her bank detailing how much is in her account, etc., right? I'm under the impression that all that is required of her is:

-the completed, notarized I-134 form (listing only her annual income in the financial section)

-a notarized copy of her tax return and/or W2s for the past year

-copies of her tax returns for the past 3 years

-a letter from her employer stating her position and salary

- a notarized copy of her birth certificate or passport to establish U.S. citizenship

And roughly the same information for the I-864. For her peace of mind, I just want to make sure she doesn't have to include any other personal information aside from her tax returns, birth certificate and a letter from her employer from now until the adjustment of status papers are filed.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Terri and Seb

Timeline:

K-1

07/30/08- I-129F was delivered to Vermont

08/11/08- NOA1

12/14/08- NOA2

02/11/09 Interview (Approved!)

03/07/09 POE at JFK

03/13/09 Married!

AOS