pm_1234

Need your advice - Income requirement

25 posts in this topic

I submitted my DS-260, AOS form, and documents about 2 weeks ago and today I received the following note (with all documents showing "accepted"):

"The petitioner does not meet the minimum income requirement to sponsor the intending immigrant for this case. The consular officer will make a decision regarding this requirement at the time of the interview. For more information, please visit https://www.uscis.gov/i-864p. To avoid delays, an additional Affidavit of Support Form I-864 for a joint sponsor may be submitted. "

It is true that I don't have a US-earned income since I am a graduate student in Canada. However, I uploaded proof of financial assets (money in saving and investment accounts) that is well beyond the poverty line for a family of two (more than 3 times of the poverty line) and this should have covered the insufficiency in my income. 

So, I am puzzled why they have the note about my income. Also, does the message mean that I have to submit the AOS with a joint sponsor? Is my case on hold till I submit a new I-864 form with a joint sponsor?

I really appreciate it if you could share your thoughts or experiences on the same issue or similar issues.

Thank you!

3 hours ago, Rainbow3e said:

Do you have a lawyer to help you do the paperwork?

Yes, we have a lawyer. It was his suggestion that we use our assets for lack of income even though I could easily add a sponsor.  

His secretary told me yesterday that the NVC is wrong in their statement and we can explain the situation in a letter. However, I think it is just much safer and honestly a lot easier to add a joint sponsor.

3 minutes ago, Rainbow3e said:

Same thing happened to me. Assets is 20 times income requirement but still get deny. They tell me to find a new sponsor....??? 

Oh really! Then, they need to update their instructions because they clearly stated that assets can substitute the lack of minimum income!