efreedman4

I-130 Filing Question for DCF

2 posts in this topic

I am very new to this whole process and I have a few specific questions about how to fill out the I-130 form correctly in my specific case. I am filing a I-130 DCF for my husband.

I have lived and worked in Peru informally and on a tourist visa for about 2 years, so I do not know how that should actually be listed on the I-130 form, because I have heard that most people are denied for not being upfront and honest with the information.

These are my three specific questions about my case:
1. Mailing address over past five years if I have lived in Peru on a tourist visa for the last 2 years (I never overstayed the tourist visa, but they technically shouldn't have given me more time when I border hopped)
2. Employment history over past five years if I have been working informally and on a tourist visa for the past 2 years for Peruvian and U.S. companies (even though I have just received my formal residency)
3. Beneficiary's Employment Information if my husband is currently a student and has worked informally during parts of the past 5 years in his parents business.

Thank you for any help!
Edited by efreedman4

1. is up to the rules of the local USCIS office.  I would email and ask them if your residency meets the requires or not, because every consulate does things a little bit differently.  You may need to switch to a longer term residence permit, or provide more proof of your time in Peru, like rental contracts, bills, bank account history, etc.  Otherwise they may just send it to a lockbox in the USA, which means much slower processing time.