Genevieve

N600 or US Passport for my children?

3 posts in this topic

Hello I am new to Visa Journey. I gained my Citizenship via Naturalization  in 2013. I have 3 children who came here in the US as Permanent residents. They were 15, 13 and 9 at that time. Right now they are already 21, 19 and 13. Can I still apply for US passports for them as a proof of their citizenship or do I need to file for N600? Your thoughts on this is greatly appreciated. 

Go for the passports....cheaper, faster, and works as a travel document. The N600 just gets a certificate to demonstrate citizenship, but otherwise has no use.

Yes, they can still apply for a US passport. The adults would do so on their own, possibly with guidance from you, but it's still their applications.

https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/passports/requirements/citizenship-evidence.html

"U.S. Citizenship through Naturalization of a Parent

If you were born outside the United States and acquired U.S. citizenship through the naturalization of your parent(s), please submit the following with your passport application:

• Your foreign birth certificate listing your parent(s)
  • Your parent(s)’ naturalization certificate
  • Evidence of your permanent residence status. Examples include:
    • Permanent Resident Card/Green Card
    • Foreign passport with the original I-551 visa entry stamp
  • Your parents' marriage certificate (if your parents were married when you legally entered the U.S. and before your 18th birthday) 
  • Documentation of legal custody (if your parents were not married when you legally entered the U.S.)
  • Evidence of your legitimation (if your parents were not married at the time of your birth). Examples include:
    • Your parents' marriage certificate dated after your birth
    • Certified court order of legitimation"

Timelines:

ROC:

Spoiler

7/27/20: Sent forms to Dallas lockbox, 7/30/20: Received by USCIS, 8/10 NOA1 electronic notification received, 8/1/ NOA1 hard copy received