tradler

Work visa following Masters

4 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello everyone,

I've done some research and think I have a grasp of the situation but would just like some clarification. My situation is as such:

• UK Citizen
  • Qualified doctor with a UK MBBS degree.
  • I'm a recent graduate but no longer work in medicine - I work in finance/consultancy but my work still pertains to healthcare and is reasonably niche.
  • Have a 10 year B1/B2 visa (though I think this is reasonably worthless) from a previous internship.
  • Would like to move to the US as the field I work in is much more developed and there are a huge amount of opportunities, though these tend not to be big international companies where I can easily get a transfer.
  • Have an internship offer for next summer in the US (though haven't actually progressed into a visa application at all or anything yet) and this could be extended for up to a year.
  • Will apply for a masters (MBA most likely) in the US either for next year (unlikely as I'm not keen on applying third round) or more likely beginning in 2018.

Questions I have are the following:

1. My understanding is I should just proceed down the H1-B route, however watered-down this gets following Trump's inauguration? I understand my employer should do this and it's a lottery. Question is, does my situation or degree qualify for any other types of immigrant visa? I suspect not but just checking!
  2. Regarding family sponsorship, I do not have any immediate family who are USCs but do have extended family that are (uncles/aunts/cousins). Is this an avenue that I can explore?

Thanks for all your help/input, this forum is a great resource!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

1. Unclear if you qualify for a H1b, is your degree in the subject needed for your job? Obviously something to discuss with your Employer and their Lawyers.

2. No