arc1993

Does this case fall under AWA?

8 posts in this topic

Hello, this is my first time posting so excuse me if I am posting on the wrong sub forum. I have concerns about my husbands prior conviction falling under AWA:

He plead no contest to a false imprisonment charge over 10 years ago (he was 18 and his girlfriend at the time was 17). This was a non-violent, non-sexual crime and he was never registered as a sex offender. He completed successfully 3 years of probation for this.

Is there chance of this being considered under AWA act since she was 17 at the time? We are married and live together so we are applying for AOS. Thoughts please?!

Filed: Timeline

Get a knowleggable atty who have dealt with AWA It will be a difficult matter,

USCIS dont care if a crime was non violent or how long, under moral

turpitude especially when its the beneficiary its almost impossible, even

petitioners with AWA in their past are routinely turned down, so far less than

10 Petitioners have been sucessful in petitioning a spouse & they are USC.

Unfortunately false imprisonment is considered AWA... It is unlikely you will be approved for AOS.

Even though it was a non-violent, non-sexual misdemeanor? How does USCIS reviews the cases? Not sure if the conviction shows it was against a minor.

Get a knowleggable atty who have dealt with AWA It will be a difficult matter,

USCIS dont care if a crime was non violent or how long, under moral

turpitude especially when its the beneficiary its almost impossible, even

petitioners with AWA in their past are routinely turned down, so far less than

10 Petitioners have been sucessful in petitioning a spouse & they are USC.

He is the USC and I am the foreign spouse (no criminal background).