yongxiong

Question about the financial requirement...please help me out

5 posts in this topic

Hello.

I have a concern about applying for the K-1 visa. My question may be a little hard to understand but please help me out.

My fiancee and I are going to apply for the K-1. I know that the financial requirement is 20,025 a year, but I only make 18,500 annually. However, I recently started working full time now and my salary is higher than what it previously was. I've been working at my workplace for about 3 years now as a part-timer, and just recently I became a full-timer. I guess my question is, will my salary be high enough to reach the requirement?

• In the interview process of the K-1 visa, will we be asked to show our most recent tax return?
  • How is the financial requirement determined?
  • Will my most recent paystubs determine if I make the financial requirement?
Edited by yongxiong

Hello.

I have a concern about applying for the K-1 visa. My question may be a little hard to understand but please help me out.

My fiancee and I are going to apply for the K-1. I know that the financial requirement is 20,025 a year, but I only make 18,500 annually. However, I recently started working full time now and my salary is higher than what it previously was. I've been working at my workplace for about 3 years now as a part-timer, and just recently I became a full-timer. I guess my question is, will my salary be high enough to reach the requirement?

• In the interview process of the K-1 visa, will we be asked to show our most recent tax return?

Short answer: You'll need to have it. Your fiancé will bring the I-134 with them to the interview, to prove that they won't become a public charge once in the U.S. Evidence would be recent paystubs, letter from your employer, and most recent tax transcript. You could also include a bank letter or statement if you don't meet the minimum income, since savings/assets can be used to help meet the requirement.