janetlopezmiranda

I-94 Re-issuance at the Border of Mexico New Passport: Who has done this?

7 posts in this topic

Filed: O-1 Visa Country: Hong Kong
Timeline

Hello,

First of all, thank you in advance for answering this question. I came to the US July 20th, 2016.

My Visa expiration is May 2019

The CBP Officer gave me an I-94 admitted stay until February 8, 2017

Because my passport expiration is February 9, 2017.

Has anyone encountered this before? I have called the Port of Entry and they said two ways: File a form of extension to USCIS or Travel

I would like to do the second option. Go out of Mexico Border and present my NEW PASSPORT and my OLD PASSPORT that contains my O1 VISA which will expire in 2019.

Also bring my I-797, Employers Contract, Pay Stubs Etc.

Please let me know if you have done this before just because the Port of Entry officer gave you admitted stay only until the expiration of your passport.

Please help me, I have never done this before. And crossing borders and stuff, and returning right away I have never done before. This is very NEW to me and I am shocked that I have to do this. Is this Normal and allowable?

Thank you very much

Edited by janetlopezmiranda

Filed: Timeline

Assuming you have proper documentation to enter Mexico, you should have no problem. People make a day trip to Mexico all the time, for example.

But -- why are you stressing about this right now? You have seven months in the US before this would become an issue. A CBP officer at the border crossing might jsut look at your current I-94 and re-admit you on that same one, since there is so much time left on it. You need to be super aware of the date on any new I-94, to make sure it actually has extended your time. The closer you do this to the time your current I-94 is due to expire the easier it will be, most likely.

Filed: O-1 Visa Country: Hong Kong
Timeline