MarkBUK

Additional help for a newbie please!

7 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: England
Timeline

Hello everyone!

I've only recently found visajourney.com and I am really glad that I did; I have tried other websites and generally the forum members there have not been very helpful :( I have looked through the guides and I would like some clarification if you folks would be so kind to help me :)

I am living in England and my partner is a US Citizen based in California. We have been together for 2 years and in the next few weeks I am going to fly out to see her once again. We have talked very seriously about Marriage and it is something that we both want :) I have a professional degree and I have been submitting applications for work in CA based on a H1B visa and more realistically, a J1 academic sponsorship visa which is looking promising. While I am with her next month we talked about starting the process of filling in the I-129F.

I have several questions that I would be really grateful for help and advice!:

1. I will be in the US with my partner for around 4 weeks. If we complete all the necessary documentation as shown in your guides (G325As included) and we send it off relatively soon then I'm guessing the forms will probably not be processed by the time I have to leave. How much does it cost to file off the initial I-129F? Are there significant costs along the way?

2. I've looked at the flow chart in the guide and I'm a little confused with the timelines of entering on a K1 visa, working using an EAD application and bona-fide marriage.