jennaleigh

K1 Visa - Will I need to get a sponsor?

3 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi, my fiancee is the Canadian. We got NOA2 a few days ago so now trying to plan ahead.

I heard Montreal wants your last few years' worth of tax returns...and it's January, so I'm not going to be able to give them this past year's, when I started my first "real" job (I am a teacher and make $34k a year). Prior to that, I was a college student and either unemployed/working part-time retail jobs.

I'm not rich by any means but I currently make plenty to support her and be over the poverty guidelines. I'm just concerned that they will see my taxes where that job isn't on there and be worried because I didn't make over the poverty guidelines then.

I will of course have proof of my current job - paystubs, letter from my employer, etc. I have been working since August when the school year started.

Do I need to be concerned? Thanks.

Oh, and even if there's a delay and I do have time to give them this past year's tax return, it wouldn't be enough to be over the poverty guidelines since I started in August.

I-129F Mailed: 11/16/2015

I-129F Received/NOA1: 11/18/2015

Check Cashed: 11/23/2015

Touched: 11/24/2015

NOA2 Email/Text: 01/04/2016

NOA2 Hard Copy: 01/08/2016

NVC Received Case: 01/13/2016

Received Case Number (FINALLY! Long story...): 03/07/2016

Sent Packet 3 Paperwork: 04/20/2016

Packet 4 Received: 04/20/2016

Medical: 06/09/2016

Interview: 06/29/2016 - Approved!!!

POE (Toronto): 08/03/2016

Married!!!: 08/26/2016

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi, my fiancee is the Canadian. We got NOA2 a few days ago so now trying to plan ahead.