theswede

AOS F-1 - address and living situation issues...

4 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Sweden
Timeline

hi all,

I've been scouring this forum for a while for information on the immigration process but figured it was time to post myself so that I could get some answers specific to my situation :)

some background info:

I first entered the US in 2008 on an F-1 visa. I completed my undergraduate degree at a university in Indiana in 2012 and finished my OPT in May of 2013. by then I'd been accepted to a graduate program so I went home for the summer and renewed my visa. I'm currently in the US as a graduate student at the University of Florida. my fiancé and I met in college 4 years ago and have been dating ever since. he is currently pursuing doctorate studies in Missouri.

technically I have 2.5 more years to finish my masters here but I'm considering leaving the program at the end of this spring semester. I feel like I dove into graduate studies too quickly and I'm not sure it's even what I want to do... I thought the education and degree would be worth the hardship of long distance (both from friends/family and my fiancé) but since I'm reconsidering my career path, I feel very unmotivated and can't possibly see myself living here, so far away from my fiancé, for another 2 years.

so we are considering getting married sooner than previously planned. the only reason we've been waiting is because we are both in school but since the situation have changed we figured why wait! :)

now.. our issues seems to be that of addresses and living situation. we are clearly separated right now and won't be able to live together until May at the earliest. I was hoping to start the AOS process as soon as possible so that I could get AP in time for the summer to visit my family and work for a month or so at home (we need the money and I need the experience!)