Ceezee

F1 status change from j1 within USA, can I go home to visit? HELP!!!!!!!!!

3 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

So I came to the USA on a J1 visa, I was an au pair for a year and then decided to continue my studies and change my status within the USA to go to school. This was done easily and I am now studying.

I have been told the only way to get the actual visa in my passport is to go home and apply for it. I have the summer break coming up, so it would be perfect to do it then. However, I was also told that there is no knowing how long the process of getting the actual visa back home will take, as well as there is a high chance of not be granted the F1 visa in my passport. I have already been accepted and enrolled at school for the whole spring semester and want to continue my studies in the USA in the fall.

I haven't seen my family in over a year, I have already missed the birth of my niece and if I can't go home I will be missing my brothers wedding. Not to mention, my grandmother is getting really old and frail and I am scared I will not be able to see her b4 she passes! The longest I could go home is about two weeks!!

Please if there is anyone that has been in this situation and done it successfully please tell me how, or if anyone has any advice I would appreciate it more than you know!!!

Thank you

Filed: Country: Philippines
Timeline

You will need to apply for an F1 overseas if you leave the US so leave enough time for processing and make your appointment well ahead of time. I would leave yourself at least two weeks from the interview date until your planned return date. If you are having trouble getting an appointment, apply for an expedited appt. Intnl students have a reasonable chance for getting those since their windows for being home are understandably short.