sstrickland

TEFL

10 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Peru
Timeline

I'm toying with the idea of teaching English in Peru and I think I would do well (though I have no formal teaching experience) but I've seen a lot of different info and schools on the internet and I could really use some direction. Do we have any English as a foreign language teachers here on visajourney, or anyone who knows about this that could give me a good overview and/or direct me to some quality references? I speak working level Spanish though I've heard that doesnt matter. Thanks!

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline

I'm toying with the idea of teaching English in Peru and I think I would do well (though I have no formal teaching experience) but I've seen a lot of different info and schools on the internet and I could really use some direction. Do we have any English as a foreign language teachers here on visajourney, or anyone who knows about this that could give me a good overview and/or direct me to some quality references? I speak working level Spanish though I've heard that doesnt matter. Thanks!

I've been teaching English for the past 2 years in Vietnam. I figure I'll do this the rest of my life. :thumbs:

Have you been to Peru yet?

I have a good friend that is making about $90,000 a year teaching English in Afghanistan. I know he didn't speak the native language at all before he started.

Interesting. Is there a large demand for English teachers there?

Filed: Timeline

I've been teaching English for the past 2 years in Vietnam. I figure I'll do this the rest of my life. :thumbs:

Interesting. Is there a large demand for English teachers there?

Don't know. He has sent some interesting pictures, though. He gets along with everybody, but there are signs of the conflict everywhere. Here is a pic from Kabul:

bM86a.jpg

Timeline