Buttons

Canadian School System

9 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Just getting ready to enroll my daughter in school in the USA. I've known for awhile that a Catholic education is considered private but it get's my goat that you must pay to receive this education. I don' think Jesus asked to be paid for his preachings.

The good thing about Canada is that this is still a school system that is covered under tax payor dollars. I am very greatful that I received this education from JK straight through till grade 12. It was a luxury that I have come to realize I took for granted.

No real point to this post but to vent my fustration.

Feb. 15/ 07 --- GC approved

Nov. 17/09 -- I-751 sent (Day 1)

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Canada
Timeline

Buttons, I had a Catholic education in the States (grade 1-8) and it was superior. So superior, many Jewish families wanted their kids enrolled. In Ontario, I was a student teacher (Catholic) and was appalled by the low standards. Being a government-designed curriculum, there was too much emphasis on multiculturalism and not enough on the 3Rs.

If you've enrolled your child in a Catholic school in the States, you're giving her an invaluable gift. She'll be well prepared for college, which now is the doorway to a decent job.

There's a strict division of Church and State in the U.S., which is why Catholic schools are private. In Canada, Catholic schools have been funded, by law, since the 1800s. But that could change, since it's now seen as discriminatory toward other religious schools.

Edited by Jersey Girl

I-130 sent Mar 30, 06

approved Aug 15, 06

I-129f sent April 24, 06

approved July 27, 06

Montreal interview Jan 18, 07

POE Toronto Jan 28, 07

EAD sent Jan. 30, 07

transferred to Vermont Feb 12

biometrics Feb 22

approved March 13

card returned undeliverable! March 27

called after 6 weeks to have EAD re-sent

AOS sent Jan. 30, 07

biometrics Feb 22

RFE for complete medical (!) Feb 23