ClayinChina

Address Update question - We bought a house!

5 posts in this topic

Filed: Lift. Cond. (apr) Country: China
Timeline

So, as of a few weeks ago, Lisa and I were able to buy a house! We can't really afford it. I'm still a student and only working part time, and Lisa is working full time at $9 an hour, but with deals out there this good, we couldn't resist when my uncle's family wanted to get an old rental house off his hands as fast as possible. It needs some serious work, but my other uncle is out of working waiting for the construction market to start back up again, and has offered to do most of the work for room and board. And with the tax credit, how could we resist? My question, however, is about the address change. In order to get the tax credit, which we need right away to start work on the house, we need to start living in the house as our principal residence. But it will be February at the earliest before the place is in condition for us to move in (lots of construction dust and disconnected bathroom water while we completely redo it). I have no problem filing taxes there, even though we won't be moving in a few months, but I'm still paranoid about the DHS change of address notice. If we aren't officially living there yet, I'm wondering if I should file the change of address now, at the same time as filing for the tax rebate, or wait until we actually live there.

Maybe I'm being overly technical about it all, but with Lisa still have the conditional green card, the last thing I want is to cause trouble that could delay removal of conditions or something.

Thanks for anyone that has an opinion on the situation.

Clay