cali92057

Cuban Fiancee

10 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Cuba
Timeline

I am new to this so please bear with me. I an engaged to be married to a man in Cuba. My passport shows my visits but each time I go I must go through another country as we cannot go direct from the US to Cuba. My first question is will Immigration recognizes the application process because of this or should I get married to him in Cuba and attempt to bring him here that way. I thank anyone for your help with this matter.

Monique

Oceanside, California

Monique

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Morocco
Timeline
I am new to this so please bear with me. I an engaged to be married to a man in Cuba. My passport shows my visits but each time I go I must go through another country as we cannot go direct from the US to Cuba. My first question is will Immigration recognizes the application process because of this or should I get married to him in Cuba and attempt to bring him here that way. I thank anyone for your help with this matter.

Monique

Oceanside, California

Your passport should also have stamps from when you entered and exited Cuba, so that shouldn't be an issue. I sometimes went through London to get to Morocco, and had stamps for both countries. You can still do the K-1.

As far as wondering if you should get married first, that's something probably best asked of people who have gone through Cuba in the past - they can tell you which way is faster/easier. Sometimes it varies by country. You can also read up on the different visas to see if there are any reasons you might prefer one over another.

Good luck - I wish you a quick and hassle free journey!

met online May 2006

visited him in Morocco July 2006

K-1 petition sent late September 2006 after second visit

December 2006 - third trip - went for his visa interview (stood outside all day)

visa approved! arrived here together right before Christmas 2006

married January 2007

AOS paperwork sent February 2007

RFE (yipee)