Charles & Ai

I-864 Tax Returns - I only have 2 years worth

2 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Japan
Timeline

Here is my dilemma,

My question is this:

Do I need 3 years of tax returns in order to proceed with the I-864?

I ask because I only have tax returns for 2004 & 2006. No taxes were filed for 2003 and 2005 (even though I had wages). I had no wage (full time student) so no taxes for 2007.

The Details:

I am fresh out of college and just finished my first year of working (2008). It is the time in the visa process for me to submit my paperwork for the I-864 and as such I must submit the past 3 years of Tax returns...the problem -

I only have Tax Returns for 2004 & 2006.

I was a full time student in 2007 so have nothing to file and no wages.

I did have wages to claim in 2005 & 2003 but did not (In past years my father always said "hand me your W2 and I will have our accountant do the taxes" which I did...well he just passed away 2 months ago so I can't ask why they weren't filed). When I called the IRS to get my past 3 returns I found out that 2003 and 2005 were never filed.

Let me start off by saying, I know I should have done my own taxes and taken more responsibility but I didn't and that is why I am here.

The IRS will send me W2's for 2003 & 2005. Should I file these and wait for them to clear before proceeding with the I-864?

Thank-you for the help again!

Charles & Ai

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

hey charles,

i had this same problem!!