handor

Spouse Visa in Japan during/after American AOS

3 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Japan
Timeline

I'm the USC half of our I-129F petition. I hope that our case is processed and resolved quickly, but in the meantime I'm thinking about the next steps and evaluating some options for each. This is a ways out, but I'm hoping someone can offer some advice.

My fiancee is Japanese, and I have spent a fair amount of time in Japan in matters both in the context of our relationship and independently. After our K1 is approved, we plan to marry in the US (of course) and live here indefinitely.

Now, if possible, I would like to obtain a Japanese spousal visa after we are married, despite living in the US permanently. We will also be traveling back to Japan rather often (as long as we can afford it). Also, more importantly, I am considering trying to do some small business in Japan. I am a software developer by trade and may have both the software and the professional contacts to carry on a small operation without the overhead of establishing a full international company. A standing visa would not be the only barrier to overcome, but it would certainly be one item off the list. In the near future, most of my visits will be social (i.e. touristy), but I wouldn't want to have problems if I have the opportunity to conduct some business on the side.

What I see online seems mostly to pertain to people who are moving to Japan permanently. Does anyone have any experience with this? Am I simply out of luck, or do you suppose there's something we can do? Thanks!

01/18ish/2005: D&M meet in Nagoya, Japan

03/11/2005: Formally a couple

05/27/2005: D returns to America (Long distance I)

08/05/2005: M goes to America to study in neighboring state (Reunion I)

05/31/2006: M returns to Japan (Long distance II)

08/02/2006: D goes to Japan to teach with JET (Reunion II)

08/29/2007: D returns to America (Long distance III)